Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

December 12, 2012

McGlothlin leads local Region IV honorees

Staff reports
Bluefield Daily Telegraph

BLUEFIELD —  Richlands senior Todd McGlothlin, left, who was selected as the Southwest District defensive player of the year, was one of four local players to be an All-Region IV first team selection. McGlothlin, a senior defensive end, was joined on first team by Richlands WR A.J. Johnson. Tazewell was represented by DL Mikey Wright and LB Guye Turner.

All-Region IV Football Team

First Team Offense

C—Troy Paplomatas, Hidden Valley; OL—Lucas Holder, Carroll County; Alex Light, Salem; Dylan Brucki, Cave Spring; Tyshawn Williams, Martinsville; TE—Jordan Bryant, Cave Spring; WR—A.J. Johnson, Richlands; Chad Fisher, Salem; Bryce Hankins, Magna Vista; RB—Ethan Richardson, Marion; De’Quan Greene-Gause, Christiansburg; Jacob Barnette, Tunstall; QB—Conner Baker, Cave Spring; KR—Jake Kite, Hidden Valley; PK—Mitchell Ludwig, Abingdon; UTIL—Joey Augustin, Cave Spring.

Offensive Player of Year: Conner Baker, Cave Spring.

First Team Defense

DE—James King, Pulaski County; Todd McGlothlin, Richlands; DL—Larry Perkins, Martinsville, Mikey Wright, Tazewell; Isaiah Pope, Abingdon; Ian Calfee, Pulaski County; LB—Guye Turner, Tazewell; Brad Hylton, Tunstall, Jordan Bryant, Cave Spring; Eddie Bowman, Bassett; DB—Justin Vance, Abingdon; Jake Kite, Hidden Valley; Chad Fisher, Salem; Evan Huffman, Tunstall; P—Mitchell Ludwig, Abingdon.

Defensive Player of Year: Jake Kite, Hidden Valley.

Division 3 Coach of Year: Buddy Brown, Tunstall

Division 4 Coach of Year: Stephen Magenbauer, Salem

Second Team Offense

(Local players only)

C—Nick Goad, Tazewell; WR—Jalen Jordan, Tazewell; RB—Colton Staten, Richlands.

Second Team Defense

(Local players only)

LB—Frank Taylor, Richlands.

Honorable Mention

(Local players only)

Richlands: Corbin King, Gray Baker, Eric Johnson, Sam Lawson.

AP All-A