Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

December 10, 2013

Beavers No. 1 in Class AA ratings

Staff reports
Bluefield Daily Telegraph

BLUEFIELD —  Anthony Eades, right, and  the defending state champion Bluefield Beavers have been selected as the top team in Class AA in West Virginia in the preseason poll conducted by the Associated Press. Bluefield received six of eight first place votes, with the others coming from Robert C. Byrd and Fairmont Senior. Bluefield defeated both teams last March in the Class AA  state tournament. Wyoming East was sixth, and Summers was among those teams receiving votes.

Basketball Poll

CHARLESTON (AP) — The Associated Press high school boys preseason basketball poll, with first-place votes in parentheses and total points:

Team    Record    Pts

Class AAA

 1. Washington (3)    0-0    69

 2. Woodrow Wilson (1)    0-0    67

 3. Martinsburg (4)    0-0    63

 4. Huntington    0-0    50

 5. South Charleston    0-0    34

 6. Greenbrier East    0-0    32

 7. Wheeling Park    0-0    26

 8. George Washington    0-0    24

 9. Hedgesville    0-0    21

10. Preston    0-0    12

 (tie) Musselman    0-0    12

Others receiving votes: Hurricane 9, Parkersburg South 8, Capital 7, Lewis County 3, Morgantown 2, Spring Valley 1.

Class AA

 1. Bluefield (6)    0-0    77

 2. Bridgeport    0-0    55

 3. Robert C. Byrd (1)    0-0    54

 (tie) Westside    0-0    54

 5. Fairmont Senior (1)    0-0    47

 6. Wyoming East    0-0    42

 7. Poca    0-0    35

 8. Scott    0-0    21

 9. Mingo Central    0-0    14

10. Tolsia    0-0    10

Others receiving votes: Roane County 9, Ritchie County 6, North Marion 4, East Fairmont 3, Sissonville 3, Chapmanville 2, Summers County 1, Grafton 1, Nicholas County 1, Webster County 1.

Class A

 1. Charleston Catholic (4)    0-0    75

 2. Parkersburg Catholic (1)    0-0    46

 3. Wheeling Central    0-0    43

 4. G.Beckley Christian (1)    0-0    42

 5. Magnolia    0-0    41

 6. Tug Valley (2)    0-0    39

 7. Notre Dame    0-0    34

 8. Tucker County    0-0    31

 9. Bishop Donahue    0-0    21

10. Madonna    0-0    20

Others receiving votes: Buffalo 10, Valley Fayette 9, Greenbrier West 8, Gilmer County 6, Man 5, Saint Joseph Central 4, Clay-Battelle 4, Williamstown 2.

* Montcalm senior football player Jason Grose was tabbed for Special Honorable Mention when the Class A all-state football team was released on Monday. Grose, who earned similar honors last season, was a mainstay for the Generals, earning 1,000 yards rushing in the previous two seasons, but was held to under 700 due to injuries this year. He led Montcalm to a 3-7 record, with three of those defeats coming by a combined 11 points.


* Honaker quarterback Casey Dye, left, has been chosen for first team honors for the Group 1A West football team. Other honorees include Galax running back Steven Peoples, who earned Player of the Year honors.  James Colley of Haysi was selected as coach of the year, while Haysi’s Tristan Yates earned the defensive back of the award. Fort Chiswell and University of Tennessee signee Coleman Thomas was tabbed as defensive player of the year.

Group 1A West Football Team


Player of Year: Steven Peoples, Galax

Back of Year: Steven Peoples, Galax

Lineman of Year: Coleman Thomas, Fort Chiswell

First Team

QB—Casey Dye, Honaker; RB—Jeffery Bowen, Haysi; WR—Tanner O’Quinn, Haysi; OL—Chandler Miller, Honaker; K—Makenzie Phillips, Honaker; KR—Tanner O’Quinn, Haysi.

Second Team

OL—Brian Duncan, Haysi; UTIL—Shannon Adams, Twin Valley.


Player of Year: Coleman Thomas, Fort Chiswell

Lineman of the Year: Coleman Thomas, Fort Chiswell

Defensive back of Year: Tristan Yates, Haysi

First Team

DE—Casey Harman, Honaker; DL—Steven Stacy, Hurley; Chandler Miller, Honaker; LB—Tristan Yates, Haysi, Jeffery Bowen, Haysi; DB—Tanner O’Quinn, Haysi.

Honorable Mention

RB—Austin Smith, Honaker; WR—Randy Horton, Honaker; OL—James Atkins, Haysi; DL—Austin Lively, Narrows, Jerome Williams, Honaker; DB—Rodney Perdue, Narrows, Randy Horton, Honaker, Tanner O’Quinn, Haysi; P—Makenzie Phillips, Honaker.

Coach of Year: James Colley,

Black Diamond District

Top Awards only

Offensive Player of Year: Jeffery Bowen, Haysi

Offensive Back of Year: Jeffery Bowen, Haysi

Offensive Lineman of Year: Chandler Miller, Honaker

Defensive Lineman of Year: Steven Stacy, Hurley

Defensive Back of Year: Tristan Yates, Haysi

Defensive Player of Year: Tristan Yates, Haysi

Coach of Year: James Colley, Haysi

 *The 2013-14 BDTBounce 48-page basketball edition will be available in Thursday’s edition of the Bluefield Daily Telegraph. The website will also be ready for use soon.