Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

Local Sports

March 27, 2013

Four Seasons’ finest

Hard work pays off for the region’s players

BLUEFIELD — Basketball in the region should be strong again next season.

Why? Of the 14 players that made All-Four Seasons Country first team honors, 10 will be back for the 2013-14 campaign.

The only seniors among the boys are Bland County’s Asher Dillow (22.0 ppg, 82 3s, 2.8 reb), who was the Mountain Empire District player of the year, and Ryan Meadows (21.9 ppg, 5.2 reb, 4.1 ast), an All-Class AAA first team honoree from Princeton.  

Princeton’s McKenzie Akers (24.8 ppg, 5.3 ast), a Marshall signee, is one of the two seniors among the girls first teamers, having received the Pocahontas Coal Association/Bluefield Daily Telegraph Player of the Year award on Tuesday night.

That is in addition to being the captain of the All-Class AAA first team, and the player of the year in the Mountain State Athletic Conference.

River View’s Chelsey Dobbs (12.9 ppg, 16.5 reb, 3.5 blks) is the other senior first-teamer among the girls.

Four juniors and a sophomore join Meadows and Dillow among the first team boys honorees, including the Bluefield duo of Lykel Collier (13.3 ppg, 8.2 ast) and Anthony Eades (19.3, 87.4 pct free throws), who was the boys recipient of the Pocahontas Coal Association/Bluefield Daily Telegraph Player of the Year award.

Other junior first teamers include Tazewell statsheet stuffer Noah Walker (18.3 ppg, 15.4 reb, 4.5 blks) and Summers County’s Ta’Ron Ayers (27.5 ppg.), an All-Class AA second team selection, who was among the top scorers in West Virginia this season.

Graham sophomore Colby Hill (17.3, 4.8 reb) rounds out the first team.

Brett Bowling (Wyoming East), Maurice Brown (Mount View), Chase Hankins (Bland County), Tony Hood (Graham), Peyton O’Quinn (Haysi),  Hunter Walters (Princeton) and Michael Yost (Bluefield) were second team boys honorees.

The third team for the boys includes Tyree Baker (River View), Payton Hall (Honaker), Logan Cantrell (Twin Valley), Jalen Jordan (Tazewell), Jacob McKlarney (James Monroe), Austin Peyton (Pipestem Christian) and Jason Weitzel (PikeView).

The boys coach of the year as announced on Tuesday is Bluefield’s Buster Large,

The other five members of the girls first team includes four juniors and Twin Valley sophomore Katelyn Jackson, who was the Black Diamond District player of the year.

Richlands’ Brittany Allen (21.1 ppg, 6.2), who was the Southwest District player of the year and an All-Group AA first team selection, is part of the first team, along with Morgan Hall (17.1 ppg, 10.4), of Grundy, who was a BDD and Region D first team selection.

PikeView’s Hope Nester (14.8 ppg, 2.5 ast) was an All-Class AA first team honoree, while Jamie Brown (27.5 ppg, 6.5 stls, 4.5 reb) was a West Virginia Christian Education Association first team selection.

Second team honors for the girls goes to Taylor Catron (Tazewell), Lyndsey Hatfield (PikeView), Kelsie Mann (James Monroe), Tiffany Perdue (Narrows), Cassidy Richardson (Richlands), Tyra Wynes (Summers County) and Ashleigh Belfiore (Mount View).

Girls on the third team include Emaleigh Gallinger (Graham), Miranda Kendrick (Montcalm), Marissa Mullins (Princeton), Jordan Page (James Monroe), Avery Pivont (Summers County), Destiney Sims (Bluefield) and Loni Webb (Grundy).

Richlands’ Dennis Palmer was selected as the area girls coach of the year.

—Contact Brian Woodson


Text Only
Local Sports
College Sports
Pro Sports
Photo Gallery - View and Purchase

Click on photos above to view more or purchase.

Local Sports Videos