Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

March 12, 2013

Allen earns SWD player of year honors

Staff reports
Bluefield Daily Telegraph

BLUEFIELD —  Richlands standout junior Brittany Allen, left, has been chosen as the Southwest District girls basketball player of the year. Allen averaged more than 20 points a game in leading the Lady Blues to a 22-5 record, the SWD regular season championship, a third straight Region IV crown and consecutive appearances in the Division 3 state semifinals. Allen was joined on the first team by teammate Cassidy Richardson and Taylor Catron of Tazewell.  The Lady Blues’ Dennis Palmer earned coach of the year honors. Tazewell’s Noah Walker was a first team All-SWD boys selection.

All-Southwest District Basketball


First Team

Brittany Allen, Richlands; Taylor Blevins, Abingdon; Taylor Catron, Tazewell; Cassidy Richardson, Richlands; Taylor Marion, Carroll County.

Second Team

MaKenley Davis, Richlands; Michala Hash, Carroll County; Whitney Saunders, Tazewell; Autumn Hash, Tazewell; Rachel Sellers, Carroll County; Callie Mellinger, Marion.

Player of Year: Brittany Allen, Richlands

Coach of Year: Dennis Palmer, Richlands

Honorable Mention (Local players only)

Richlands: Rachel Alley, Montana Hearl, Sarah Compton; Tazewell: Briana Sparks, Haley Christian, Essence Brown.


First Team

Josh Hess, Abingdon; Mack Owens, Abingdon; Ryan Gravley, Carroll County; Ethan Richardson, Marion; Noah Walker, Tazewell.

Player of Year: Ryan Gravley, Carroll County

Coach of Year: Brad Hawks, Carroll County

Second Team

Gunnar Beamer, Carroll County; Conner Lundy, Carroll County; Brenton Alford, Marion; Colin Hancock, Tazewell; Jalen Jordan, Tazewell.

Honorable Mention (Local teams only)

Richlands: Ben Brown, Kyle Call, Trent Davis, Gabe Hunsaker, Zach Johnson; Tazewell: Tanner Catron, Nathan Cline, Juwan Jordan, Christian Lewis, Jessee Mountain, Isaac Santana, Jared Repass.