Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

Local Sports

December 2, 2012

Gridiron stars to be honored on Tuesday

BLUEFIELD — Nearly all the games are over, now is time to give out the awards.

While Honaker is still playing football with hopes of a state championship, the show must go on.

The 12th annual Pocahontas Coal Association/ Bluefield Daily Telegraph Player of the Year banquet will be held on Tuesday at the Princeton Elks Club.

Eleven local football players were chosen as the best in their particular week during the season, and all will gather on Tuesday to be presented with trophies for their efforts, and all will be up for player of the year honors.

A coach of the year will also be presented.

This year’s honorees include:

•Week 1: Spencer Sheets, Graham. Finished season with 1,017 yards and seven touchdowns passing, and also ran for 755 yards and 11 more scores. He also had eight receptions, and an interception return for a touchdown.

•Week 2: Colton Staten, Richlands. Compiled 1,563 yards and 12 touchdowns for the Blue Tornado. Led the Blue Tornado to their ninth straight Southwest District title.

•Week 3: Wayne Mutter, Grundy: Mutter was 3-of-5 in field goals, 21-of-24 on extra points (the misses were blocked) and averaged 43 yards per punt. He also placed every kickoff inside the 5-yard line for the Wave.

•Week 4: Montel Leggett, Bluefield: Speedy back had 1,378 yards and 19 touchdowns on the ground. He also caught four passes for 103 yards and a score. Leggett accumulated 1,521 all-purpose yards.

•Week 5: Cody McCann, Tazewell: McCann threw for 1,331 yards and nine touchdowns, including a school record 387 yards on just 12 completions in one game. He helped the Bulldogs snap an 18-game losing skid.

•Week 6: Teddy Hazzard, Mount View: The Golden Knights had lost 31 straight games, but Hazzard threw for 172 yards, ran for 79 and accounted for three touchdowns to help the Knights beat Van.

•Week 7: Gray Baker, Richlands: Baker played just seven games because of  knee injury, but threw for 1,497 yards and 14 touchdowns. He had games of 341 and 282 yards, the second and third highest in school history.

•Week 8: Cody Hatfield, Graham: Hatfield led the G-Men in rushing (1,083 yards, 10 touchdowns) and receiving (17-335, 2 tds) and was second on the team with 121. He led Graham 1,624 all-purpose yards and 84 points.

•Week 9: Jason Grose, Montcalm: Grose led Montcalm to its second best record in school history with 1,231 yards and 17 touchdowns. He also collected 85 tackles on defense.

•Week 10: Ian Mann, Giles: The Giles senior set seven school records this season, rushing for 2,328 yards and 37 touchdowns. Mann was the Three Rivers District offensive player of the year.

•Week 11: Jordan Wilson, River View: The lone sophomore in the group, Wilson ran for 1,225 yards and 13 touchdowns. He had 184 yards against Westside to secure a playoff berth on the final Friday against Westside.

Two players have won the player of the year award twice, Graham’s Ahmad Bradshaw, who is now with the New York Giants, and Devon Johnson of Richlands, who just completed his freshman season at Marshall.

Other top winners have included Jake Lilly, Will Cole and Rusty Coeburn from Bluefield, Robert Henry and H.T. Mathews of Graham, along with Justin McCracken of Richlands and James Monroe’s Taylor Robertson.

The coach of the year will be presented for a fifth time. Previous winners have included Mitch Estep (River View), Greg Mance (Richlands), Jeff Damewood (PikeView) and Bobby Wyatt (Tazewell).  

The first of 11 weekly girls basketball awards will be announced this week. Boys basketball will begin the following week. A banquet for both girls and boys winners will be held in March.

—Contact Brian Woodson


Text Only
Local Sports
College Sports
Pro Sports
Photo Gallery - View and Purchase

Click on photos above to view more or purchase.

Local Sports Videos