Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

Local Sports

December 2, 2012

Graham places six on MED first team

BLUEFIELD, Va. —  Graham quarterback Spencer Sheets, left, was one of seven G-Men chosen to the All-Mountain Empire District football team. Sheets, who was chosen as a utility player, was joined by Mark Large, Chase Asbury, Brennan Wheeler, Michael Thompson and Cody Hatfield. Narrows was represented by Tyler Evans. Bland County placed John Griffith on  the second team. Daniel Hamm of Fort Chiswell was the top offensive performer, while defensive player of the year honors went to Steven Peoples of Galax.

All-Mountain Empire District Football

First Team Offense

TE—Mark Large-Graham; OL—Chaz Sizemore-Galax, Brett Phipps-Grayson County, Jordan Adams-Grayson County, Chase Asbury-Graham; C—Coleman Thomas-Fort Chiswell; RB—Daniel Hamm-Fort Chiswell, Dontae People-Galax, Steven Peoples-Galax; WR—Mikey Rodgers-Grayson County, Levi Mooney-Fort Chiswell, Spencer Roberts-Grayson County; QB—Max Rodgers-Grayson County; UTIL—Spencer Sheets-Graham; K—Mario Ruiz-Grayson County; KR—Dontae Peoples-Galax.

First Team Defense

DE—Jesse Davis-Galax, Brennan Wheeler-Graham; DT—Jerrell Smith-Grayson County, James King-Fort Chiswell, Michael Thompson-Graham; LB—Coleman Thomas-Fort Chiswell, Hunter Cook-Graham, Jake Parnell-Grayson County; Steven Peoples-Galax; DB—Dontae People-Galax, Daniel Hamm-Fort Chiswell, Desmond Perry-Fort Chiswell, Cody Hatfield-Graham. P—Tyler Evans-Narrows.

Offensive Player of Year: Daniel Hamm, Fort Chiswell

Defensive Player of Year: Steven Peoples, Galax

Coaching Staff of Year: Fort Chiswell

Second Team Offense

(local players only)

OL—John Griffith-Bland County, Tyler Evans-Narrows; C—Daelan Caffee-Graham; RB—Cody Hatfield-Graham; WR—Chandler Burton-Narrows, Charlie Benfield-Graham; UTIL—Rodney Perdue-Narrows.

Second Team Defense

(local players only)

DE—Adam Carbaugh-Graham, Tyler Evans-Narrows; LB—Danny Stevers-Narrows, Jacob Evans-Graham; DB—Charlie Benfield-Graham, Rodney Perdue-Narrows.

Honorable Mention

(local players only)

Bland County: Dylan Walker, Aaron Rose, Dakota Wright, Jacob Parker; Graham: Jarrod Richmond, Colin Beavers, Canaan Looney, Jacob Tibbs; Narrows: Austin Lively, Gage Munsey, Trevor Hart, Kelly Dent.


Text Only
Local Sports
College Sports
Pro Sports
Photo Gallery - View and Purchase

Click on photos above to view more or purchase.

Local Sports Videos