Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

Local Sports

July 27, 2012

Blue Ridge Junior Golf completes another season

PIPESTEM — Princeton graduate and future Bluefield State golfer J.J. McPherson captured the 16-to-18-year-old age division at the ENT Blue Ridge Junior Golf Tour Championship on Thursday at Pipestem Resort State Park.

Other winners included Kory Wilson (Pearisburg), Christopher Zhang (Blacksburg), Noah Clark (Pearisburg) and Peyton Coe (Wytheville).

 Ages 16-18, Par 72,

6,884 yards

McPherson fired an even par 72 to rally from a triple-bogey on the first hole and three-shot deficit to claim the title. He recorded three birdies and 14 pars to post a two-day total of 148. He was followed by Conrad Thacker Abingdon, 153), Benjamin Lamb (Pipestem, 154).

McPherson earned Player of the Year honors in his age division. He was joined on the All-Star team by Lamb, Zachary Luttrell (Pounding Mill), Blake Hash (Tazewell) and Karson Terry (Peterstown).

Ages 14-15, Par 72, 6,221

Wilson was able to squeak past Tyler Hillyer of Princeton on the third playoff hole to capture his age division. The duo both had two-day totals of 150, which forced the extra holes. Dylan Sawyers (Richlands) was third with a 155.

Sawyers did, however, capture the tour-wide player of the year honors in his age group. He was joined on the all-star team by Hillyer, Joseph Clark (Pearisburg), Taylor Trail (Marion) and Marcus Fowler (Wytheville).

Ages 12-14, Par 72, 5,782

Zhang defeated Hunter Duncan of Christiansburg in the third playoff hole to capture that particular age group. They tied at 162, with Zhang sinking a 30-putt to wrap up the title. Maxwell Dillon (Wytheville) was third with a 162. Duncan did earn player of the year honors. He was joined by Zhang, Joel Carlos (Bluefield), Steven Parker (Princeton) and Trevor Foy (Bluefield) on their age division all-star team.

Ages 10-12, Par 36, 1,957

Noah Clark followed up a opening round 35 on Wednesday with a 41 to finish with a 76 to claim the age division. Deacon Beamer (Wytheville) 79 finished second, followed by Carson Proffitt (Camp Creek) with a a two-day total of 80. Clark earned player of year honors, and joined was joined by fellow all-stars Beamer, Proffitt, Patrick Smith (Beckley) and B Davis (Radford).

Ages 9-under, Par 36, 1,957

Coe posted a two-day total of 86, including a 43 on each day, to claim the age division. Braden Watkins of Bluefield was second. Coe won five tournaments this summer to claim the player of year honors. He was joined as an all-star by Watkins and Daniel Goode (Wytheville).

Tour director Dewayne Belcher expressed his thanks for all the sponsors and golf facilities that helped  make the BRJGT a success this summer.

Text Only
Local Sports
College Sports
Pro Sports
Photo Gallery - View and Purchase

Click on photos above to view more or purchase.

Local Sports Videos