Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

November 5, 2012

Monroe citizens to elect county leaders

Bluefield Daily Telegraph

UNION — Monroe County voters will elect a county sheriff and assessor Tuesday.

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Mike Gravely of Lindside and challenger Democrat Alan P. Thomas of Greenville are both vying for sheriff.

Republican Angela Miller of Lindside will face off against Democrat Norbert A. Netzel of Union for the county assessor seat. Current County Assessor Donna Huffman is not seeking re-election.

Several candidates on the county ballot are also running unopposed. Incumbent Democrat and County Commission President Shane Ashley of Union is seeking re-election to the county commission while incumbent Democrat Justin R. St. Clair of Peterstown is seeking re-election as prosecuting attorney.

Incumbent Republican Kevin L. Miller of Union and incumbent Democrat Nancy P. Crews of Union are both running unopposed for re-election as magistrate. Democrat candidate David O. Holz of Greenville is running unopposed for county surveyor.

Four candidates are vying for the two open 26th Delegate District seats including incumbent John D. O’Neal IV of Beckley and challengers Roy G. Cooper of Wayside, Jeffry A. Pritt of Pickaway, and Al Martine of Daniels.

In the 42nd Delegate District race, four candidates are also seeking two open delegate seats including incumbent Republican Ray Canterbury of Ronceverte and challengers Republican George “Boogie” Ambler of Fort Spring, Democrat Steve Hunter of Lewisburg, and Democrat Glenn Singer of Lewisburg.

Incumbent Democrat William R. Laird IV of Oak Hill is running unopposed for the 10th Senatorial District seat.

— Contact Kate Coil at