Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

November 7, 2012

Va. mayoral, town council races bring voters out

Bluefield Daily Telegraph

BLUEFIELD, Va. — Mayoral and town council races in Bluefield, Va., Cedar Bluff, Pocahontas, Tazewell and Richlands were on local ballots Tuesday when Tazewell County residents went to the polls Tuesday.

In Bluefield, Va., three candidates were running for mayor. They included incumbent Donald R. “Don” Harris and challengers C.E. “Chuck” Presley Jr. and current town council member R. Lee Riffe.

Unofficial results posted Tuesday night by the Virginia State Board of Elections showed Harris with 1,176 votes; Riffe with 970 votes; and Presley with 293 votes.

Incumbents Donald Scott Linkous and Anglis Trigg Jr. ran unopposed for re-election to the Bluefield, Va., Town Council. Linkous received 1,726 votes and Trigg  received 1,463.

In the town of Cedar Bluff, incumbent Mayor C. Jerry Herron ran unopposed for re-election. Herron received 337 votes, and there were nine write-in votes.

Four candidates ran for the three seats on the Cedar Bluff Town Council. State board of elections unofficial results showed incumbent C. Darell Cantrell, 264; incumbent Timothy M. Trent, 236; incumbent James D. Brown, 234; challenger R. Matt Whitt, 213; and challenger Travis S. Stevenson, 100 votes. There were three write-in votes.

In the town of Pocahontas, Benjamin A. Gibson, who presently serves as vice-mayor for the town, was the only candidate who filed for mayor. Current Pocahontas Mayor Johnathan Gibson did not seek re-election. Unofficial results showed Gibson with 115 votes. There were 28 write-in votes.

Only three candidates had filed for the four open seats on the Pocahontas Town Council. Incumbent Arthur C. Scott and candidates Darrell Lester Hunley and Patsy N. Pauley are all seeking one of the four open seats. The names of the write-in candidates will be confirmed during the canvas today, Tazewell County Registrar Deborah Barrett said.

 Unofficial results provided by the Tazewell County Registrar’s Office showed Scott with 117 votes; Hunley with 73 votes; Pauley with 33 votes.

“If someone gets write-in votes, they will win that seat,” she said earlier. “If there are multiple write-in candidates then the four candidates who receive the most votes will be elected to the four open seats.”

In the town of Tazewell, incumbent Mayor A. Donald Buchanan Jr. was challenged by O. Kes Blackwell. Buchanan was moved from a seat on the town council into the mayor’s seat after the death of the late Mayor Dr. Charles Grindstaff in December 2011.

Unofficial results showed Buchanan with 1,084 votes and Blackwell with 763 votes, according to the Virginia State Board of Elections.

Five candidates ran for three open seats on the Tazewell Town Council. Unofficial results showed incumbent David H. Fox, 1,144 votes; Glenn L. Catron, 902 votes; incumbent Chris A. Blankenship, 843 votes; C. David Buffalow, 722 votes; and Betty Watson Conn, 699 votes. There were 17 write-in votes.

In the town of Richlands, incumbent Mayor Jan R. White ran unopposed for re-election and received 1,608 votes. There were 35 write-in votes.

In the town council race, four candidates sought three open positions in Richlands. Unofficial tallies showed incumbent A. Joe McCracken with 1,172 votes; Douglas R. Ratliff, 1,131 votes; incumbent Frances D. Meadows, 1,011 votes; Rhudy R. Keith Jr., 795 votes; and 22 write-in votes.

— Contact Greg Jordan at