Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV

November 4, 2012

Tazewell voters to decide mayoral and other races

Bluefield Daily Telegraph

BLUEFIELD, Va. — Several mayoral and town council seats are up for grabs Tuesday in communities across Tazewell County.

Three candidates are vying for mayor in Bluefield, Va. Incumbent Donald R. “Don” Harris is being challenged by C.E. “Chuck” Presley Jr. and current town council member R. Lee Riffe in the mayoral race.

Incumbents Donald Scott Linkous and Anglis Trigg Jr. are running unopposed for re-election to the Bluefield, Va., Town Council.

In the town of Cedar Bluff, incumbent Mayor C. Jerry Herron is running unopposed for re-election.

Four candidates are also seeking three seats on the Cedar Bluff Town Council. Challengers Travis S. Stevenson and R. Matt Whitt as well as incumbents James D. Brown, C. Darell Cantrell, and Timothy M. Trent are vying for three seats on town council.

In the town of Pocahontas, Benjamin A. Gibson, who presently serves as vice-mayor for the town, is the only candidate who has filed for mayor. Current Pocahontas Mayor Johnathan Gibson is not seeking re-election.

Only three candidates have filed for the four open seats on the Pocahontas Town Council. Incumbent Arthur C. Scott and candidates Darrell Lester Hunley and Patsy N. Pauley are all seeking one of the four open seats.

Tazewell County Registrar Deborah Barrett said a write-in candidate will take the fourth seat on the Pocahontas Town Council.

“If someone gets write-in votes, they will win that seat,” she said. “If there are multiple write-in candidates then the four candidates who receive the most votes will be elected to the four open seats.”

In the town of Tazewell, incumbent Mayor A. Donald Buchanan Jr. is being challenged by O. Kes Blackwell in the mayoral race. Buchanan was moved from a seat on the town council into the mayor’s seat after the death of the late Mayor Dr. Charles Grindstaff in December 2011.

Five candidates are vying for three open seats on the Tazewell Town Council. Incumbents Chris A. Blankenship and David H. Fox will face off against challengers C. David Buffalow, Glenn L. Catron, and Betty Watson Conn for the three available council seats.

In the town of Richlands, incumbent Mayor Jan R. White is running unopposed for re-election.

In the town council race, four candidates are seeking three open positions in Richlands.

The candidates include incumbents Frances D. Meadows and Douglas R. Ratliff and challengers Rhudy R. Keith Jr. and A. Joe McCracken.

Voters living in the Falls Mills Precinct will also have a new polling location on Election Day. The Falls Mills polling place has been moved to the Falls Mills Christian Church Fellowship Hall across the street from the Falls Mills Christian Church on Mudfork Road. Anyone with further questions can contact the Tazewell County Registrar’s Office at 276-988-1305.

— Contact Kate Coil at