LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —
Obtaining a concealed carry weapons license within the Commonwealth of Kentucky is not a simple task.
The overall process involves background checks, filling out various forms, visiting your local sheriff's office and attending an eight-hour class. It is only after a six to eight week process that one is able to fully exercise their second amendment rights in public.
That is, of course, unless you're under the protection of an emergency protection order (EPO) or domestic violence order (DVO) after July 15.
As part of House Bill 128 — which amends many firearm laws in Kentucky — those protected by the two court orders will have the opportunity to apply electronically for a temporary concealed carry weapons permit and receive an answer from the Kentucky State Police in one business day.
The temporary permit will last for 45 days after it is granted. The idea behind such legislation is that those protected under an EPO or DVO will use the time to complete the weapons training course and any other requirements for a standard CCW license.
For standard licenses, applicants must be a citizen of the Commonwealth for at least six months, be 21 years of age or older, have little to no trouble with the law, have a recent color photograph and a copy of a certificate of completion or written affidavit proving completion of a firearms training course offered by the Department of Criminal Justice Training.
Applicants will still have to undergo the same background checks as the general public, but will not have to complete the weapons training required for a standard CCW license.
According to Kentucky state representative Robert Damron, who hails from Nicholasville and represents Fayette and Jessamine counties, an emergency situation calls for emergency measures. Damron was one of 21 state representatives to sponsor the bill when it was introduced on Jan. 7.