— WEATHERFORD, Texas – Tattooing a minor is illegal in Texas even if the child’s mother gives her OK.
Now 31-year-old Lydie Krenzke Mathers is facing misdemeanor charges.
In addition, Brian Sporn is charged with performing a tattoo on a child he knew was a juvenile, according to the sheriff’s office.
According to the Texas Health and Safety Code, a person under 18 years old may not be tattooed unless the tattoo will cover another tattoo with obscene or offensive language or symbols. The parent or guardian must also give consent.
The girl, who had just turned 14 years old, had two other tattoos on other parts of her body, as well, according to authorities.
Details for this story were provided by The Weatherford (Texas) Democrat.