Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Bluefield, WV



Historic coalfield squad ... The undefeated 1957 Big Creek Owls football team which will be inducted as a unit into the McDowell County Sports Hall of Fame on Sunday. Front row, from left, Head Coach Merrill Gainer, Rudy Fernandez, Terry Quesenberry, Grover, Shelton, Darrell Powers, Luther Holland, Bill Marshall, Roger Morrison, Herman Kennedy, Harold Williamson and Assistant Coach Carl Mams. Second row, Walter Stress, Alvin Stanley, Bobby Carroll, Douglas Barnette, Ronnie Honaker, John Dowling, Gracen Kenneda, Dickie Shaw, Alva Roberts and Harold Bolden. Third row, Kenny Fields, Ronald Hill, Jackie Schweingrover, Sterling Wade, Benny Brown, Harold Osborne, Sammy Fragile, Ralph Richardson, John Deskins and Arthur Pruett. Fourth row, Cecil Hampton, Roy Rogers Bellamy, Gerald Holbrook, Chappy Cox, Curtis Harman, Bill Mahoney, Gary Powell, Joe Alderman, Sterling Wallace and David Taylor. Fifth row, Eddie Bryozowski, Kermit Brown, Donald Sheets, Ernest Bowman, Benny Church, Glenn Pruitt, Bobby Brewer, Vernon Bishop, Bill Bayer, Raymond Brewster, Robert Erps and Jimmy Hickam.